Simple Sauerkraut Recipe

Sauerkraut is one of those foods where you either love it, or you hate it. Well, I’ll tell you, I used to absolutely HATE it. The tangy taste just never appealed to me. Then, I found out about healing your gut, and I realized, if I wanted to heal mine, I was gonna have to eat it. When I tried a RAW sauerkraut for the first time, I was shocked! I actually liked it. Not only that, I wanted to eat it with everything! Then, I started making my own, and boy, is it easy. All it is is fermented cabbage. You can put some other stuff in there, as well, but the basic sauerkraut is fermented cabbage, and that’s all we’ll be doing in this recipe.

Makes: about 1 quart size jar

What you need:

1/2 red or green cabbage

sea salt

Bowl

quart sized jar

Cheese cloth or coffee filter

rubber band

Directions:

Chop up the cabbage as fine or as thick as you like. Put a layer in the bowl, and put some salt over it. Massage it a little, then repeat these same steps until the bowl is full, or you run out of cabbage.

Massage the cabbage until it starts sweating, and you can squeeze water out of it.

Now, put it into the jar. Be sure to press down, and make sure it is packed in tight. There should be liquid covering the cabbage.

Now, lay the cheese cloth or coffee filter over the jar opening, and keep it in place with the rubber band.

Place the jar in a cool dark place, but somewhere you won’t forget about it.

Check it every day, or so, and make sure the liquid is still covering it.

After a week, or two, it is ready, but you can leave it to ferment for as long as you want.

Do you need to Heal Your Leaky Gut, but feel like you can’t while being vegan? I can help! Just click here, and read all about a program I offer specifically for vegans who want to Heal their Guts!


Wouldn’t you LOVE to get quirky yet informational emails straight to your inbox???

Of course you would!

Get Your FREE Supplement & Detoxifying Foods Check List HERE!

Leave a Reply

