Chickpea Breakfast Patties

Today I was cooking for a client whom I meal prep for. I love doing this, cooking for people I mean. It’s so fun, and I can help them to have healthy vegan meals throughout the week. Well, this particular client doesn’t really care what I make, just as long as it tastes good. So, sometimes I’ll come up with recipes while I’m there, with ingredients this person has in his pantry. That happened today, and I was so happy with how it came out, I’m sharing it with you.

These Chickpea Breakfast Patties are savory (kind of like a sausage patty, but not really), filling, and healthy! Oil is optional, but you should use everything else I put in this recipe! It will taste so good. You won’t regret taking my advice.

Enough chit-chat, let’s get started.

chickpeabreakfastpatties

This recipe is: Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, and Oil-Free (if you omit it)

Yields: 9-10 small patties

What you need:

  • 1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
  • 1 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 1/4 cup corn meal
  • 1/4 cup finely diced red onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Aminos
  • 1 vegan egg (Follow your Heart brand is great for this, too)
  • 1 tbsp grape seed oil (optional, omit for oil-free)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Line baking sheet with parchment paper
  3. Roughly mash up the drained chickpeas, either using your hands or a fork.
  4. Mix the quinoa and diced red onion in with the mashed chickpeas.
  5. Now, add the coconut aminos, and mix.
  6. In a separate bowl, whisk the corn meal, salt, and pepper together, and add to the chickpea mixture.
  7. Now, add in the vegan egg and oil (if using).
  8. Mix well.
  9. Once everything is mixed together,
  10. Start making small, palm sized patties. (About 1-1/2 tbsp of mixture)
  11. Place on the baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  12. Bake for 20 minutes.
  13. Flip, and bake for another 10 minutes.
  14. Enjoy!

These are great for meal prep, as they will keep in the fridge for a week.

Let me know what you think in the comments, and if you make them, take a pic, and tag me on Instagram or Twitter @allysveganvibes

Try it with these!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Chickpea Breakfast Patties

Leave a Reply

